My Productivity Plan

Over the last two weeks, I was learning some proven, science-backed tactics to boost my productivity and performance so that I can crush my goals and lead the life that I have always wanted. Firstly, I must strategically manage my energy to be my productive self. I need to better understand my body’s natural rhythms so that I can hit peak productivity every day.

I am not a machine. My body has natural rhythms including peaks and valleys of energy throughout each day. My body’s chronotype is identified to be PM-shifted. About 20% of the world's population is PM-shifted - and I am a part of this cohort. Those with PM-shifted rhythms prefer to stay up late at night and wake up late and feel most energized later in the day.

Below is my strategic schedule that aligns with my body’s natural energy levels:

  • 6 am: Sleeping
  • 7 am: Waking up and having breakfast
  • 8 am: Commute to work and read a book
  • 9 am: Back to the office and kick-off meetings

During my recovery phase, it is best to do my creative work and collaborative tasks that benefit from disinhibition:

  • 10 am: Programming
  • 11 am: One-to-one meetings with team members
  • 12 pm: Lunch
  • 1 pm: Technical architecture solution design
  • 2 pm: Code review
  • 3 pm: Client meetings

During my dip, it is best to do administrative work. I also try to use this time to take a break, nap or go for a walk.

  • 4 pm: Writing documentation
  • 5 pm: Management meetings

During my PEAK, I do my most important analytical work, tasks that require vigilance and clear thinking.

  • 6 pm: Commute back home and read a book
  • 7 pm: Gym and jogging for 5km
  • 8 pm: Reading at Library
  • 9 pm: Dinner
  • 10 pm: Writing blog post and journalling
  • 11 pm: Review CFA curriculum reading material

Sleep

  • 12am: Sleeping

I simply cannot perform at my peak without rest. It’s essential to maintain the energy and stamina I need to excel in my life’s goals.

Secondly, take a step back to reflect on how my daily grind connects to my greater goals. With a clear understanding of my ”ultimate whys”, I can break my biggest aspirations down into smaller, more manageable pieces that I can conquer day by day. The ultimate why I would like to pursue this is to be a lifelong learner.

Quarterly, I want to achieve three things in the next three months. Objectives are aspirational and action-oriented.

  • Objective 1: Pass Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) Level 1 exam
  • Objective 2: Pass AWS Certified Solutions Architect, Professional Certification exam
  • Objective 3: Studying for the Master's degree in technology in digital leadership at the National University of Singapore

Monthly, I will measure progress towards my objectives:

  • Key Result 1: Be able to pass the mock CFA exams and practice on exercises
  • Key Result 2: Review AWS architecture in the real work environment
  • Key Result 3: Lead and deliver technology projects and practice my leadership principles

Weekly Initiatives and tasks I need to do each week to hit my key results:

  • Weekly Initiatives 1: Finished 3 readings of the CFA curriculums
  • Weekly Initiatives 2: Completed CFA curriculum exercises
  • Weekly Initiatives 3: Practice exam questions and shorten the answer time

Daily Most Important Tasks (MIT) I can complete in pursuit of my weekly initiatives:

  • MIT 1: Read physical books and ebooks
  • MIT 2: Attend physical lectures and online classes
  • MIT 3: Listen to a podcast in the gym

Finally, I need to create sustainable habits to bridge my daily routine to my greatest life goals. Become superhuman – by getting my most important work done, in less time, with less stress. To make productivity tactics really stick, learn the science behind effective habits. Well-designed habits are the secret sauce to sustaining peak performance over the long run. A behaviour that helps me achieve one of my ultimate whys is reading more books.

  • Step 1: Design my cue. When I am feeling bored during my commute on a train in the morning back to the office
  • Step 2: Link habits to a craving. I am the type of person who believes in continuous learning and improvement.
  • Step 3: Write down the response and remove barriers to success. I will take out a kindle ebook reader to read a book. I need it to be full fully charged and in my pocket. Also, I will need a list of the want-to-read book list, so that I am not running out of interesting books to read.
  • Step 4: Manufacture a reward. I will apply new knowledge in the real world. I will also share my learning on my blog with others.

In summary, my habit is if I am feeling bored during my commute on a train in the morning back to the office[cue], then I will take out a kindle ebook reader to read a book. I need it to be full fully charged and in my pocket. Also, I will need a list of the want-to-read book list, so that I am not running out of interesting books to read. [response]. I do this because the type of person who believes in continuous learning and improvement [craving] and I will reward myself with apply new knowledge in the real world. I will also share my learning on my blog with others[reward].